newbie question - replacing caps - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th May 2009, 12:00 PM   #1
xn7 is offline xn7  United States
diyAudio Member

Default newbie question - replacing caps

have a old aiwa solid state.. getting a pretty loud speaker/headphone hum.. level of hum is nondependent of volume control. not ground looping as far as i can tell. no interference from external sources.

so i think its the caps. from what i can see 2 of the larger caps are slightly bulged. 8200 µF 56v is what it says on them. turns out i can't find the exact cap.. all i've found are:

8200 µF 50v
8200 µF 63v

are either of these appropriate to use? im new at this.. lol. thank you
Old 12th May 2009, 01:36 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I would go with the higher voltage rating. The lower voltage part may not have enough headroom above the power supply voltage to be safe. I would also check the rectifiers for leakage. At this point you don't know why the caps failed (or are in the process of failing). It could be just an old cap or it could be from AC leakage from a diode that is going bad.
Old 12th May 2009, 02:36 PM   #3
flacer is offline flacer  Malaysia
diyAudio Member

The 8200 µF 63v is appropriate to use. ( always can be replace by higher voltage rating )
Old 12th May 2009, 02:42 PM   #4
AndrewT is online now AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

Can you measure the voltage across the smoothing caps?
Old 12th May 2009, 07:48 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

thanks for the responses and clearing up the question regarding appropriate voltage of replacement caps. i did find the exact specification nichicon caps i need, but it is difficult locate a supplier that will sell in less than bulk quantities.