help: preamp hum - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th April 2009, 02:43 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default help: preamp hum

I have recently aquired a couple of turntables, one including a Radio Labs ST-PH1 preamplifier. I'm new to vinyl, but here's the problem:
When I connect my preamp to my stereo reciever there is a loud alternating hum and no music. If I connect a turntable directly to my receiver I get little sound (no pnono input), but also no hum.

I will attach a sound recording of the hum. I can hear the hum through the speakers, and faintly through the preamp itself. Yes the circuit is making noise. I have tried grounding the amp and turntable to the receiver chasis, an unplugging each individually, and unplugging all; still there.

Please have a listen and let me know if you think this is ground loop hum, or a dead power supply/ voltage regulator.
Attached Files
File Type: zip phono_hum.zip (77.7 KB, 51 views)
Old 30th April 2009, 07:39 AM   #2
mjf is offline mjf  Austria
diyAudio Member

hello.
it listens to me like the preamp has failed - you can check the powersupply with a multimeter (voltage regulator and rectifier(diodes),supply elcaps..............).also have a look at broken connections/bad soldering points.
greetings...........
Old 1st May 2009, 08:41 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks, I'll try and pry the circuits out of the enclosure and test them. It looks like they were potted in there, but hopefully not.
Old 1st May 2009, 10:07 PM   #4
eyoung is offline eyoung  United States
diyAudio Member

Hola Y'all...