Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Absolute Beginner to SPICE
Absolute Beginner to SPICE
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th April 2009, 07:36 PM   #1
klewis is offline klewis  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Absolute Beginner to SPICE

Andy_C mentioned this as a possible topic in the Solid State Spice thread. So, being close to an absolute beginner and not knowing where else to post this, I thought I might start here. I'm building an amp with the LME49810 for the front end and a darlington pair configuration for the current gain section. I would like to test several combinations/configuration of the CG section. So, I need to simulate the output, (maybe without feedback) of the front end. The image below shows what I've done to date.

First, is there a better way? what would that look like?

I would also like to do square wave tests. I've done some previously on full amplifier circuits but with this partial amp, my methodology doesn't work.
Attached Images
File Type: gif darlington1.gif (11.7 KB, 306 views)
Old 6th April 2009, 07:43 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Here's the spice model.
Attached Files
File Type: zip darlington1.zip (1.8 KB, 25 views)
Old 6th April 2009, 07:59 PM   #3
Mr Evil is offline Mr Evil  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

What are you hoping to learn from the simulation? There are things you can do to help make the results of various tests more realistic, but you need to know what you're testing for.
Old 6th April 2009, 08:03 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

I'm hoping to get a relative sense of THD when comparing different transistors; seeing the relative effects of added componets and componet values;
Old 6th April 2009, 09:15 PM   #5