Absolute Beginner to SPICE

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Andy_C mentioned this as a possible topic in the Solid State Spice thread. So, being close to an absolute beginner and not knowing where else to post this, I thought I might start here. I'm building an amp with the LME49810 for the front end and a darlington pair configuration for the current gain section. I would like to test several combinations/configuration of the CG section. So, I need to simulate the output, (maybe without feedback) of the front end. The image below shows what I've done to date.

First, is there a better way? what would that look like?

I would also like to do square wave tests. I've done some previously on full amplifier circuits but with this partial amp, my methodology doesn't work.

Attachments

• darlington1.gif
    darlington1.gif
    11.7 KB · Views: 328
You might try using a simple model of a loudspeaker as a load instead of a resistor. This can exacerbate crossover distortion by making the crossover occur at a point other than at zero output voltage.

I think you'll find that you have a DC offset at the output with the circuit as you have it. You should split the bias voltage in two and apply the input to the middle. Note that you will have to readjust the bias for each device you try, to make sure you test them all at the optimum quiescent current.

Also try measuring input impedance (just plot input current against frequency). An output stage might not add that much distortion itself, but it can cause distortion in the VAS by presenting a low impedance, or not sufficiently isolating the VAS from the load impedance.

I think I've figured out how to make the square wave work. I used 56v as Vinitial, -56 volts as Von, Trise 1n, Tfall 1n, Ton 2.5e-5 and Tperiod 5e-5. Is this correct for a 10kHz square wave? Enlarged square wave output shown.

Attachments

• dar_10khz_2.gif
    dar_10khz_2.gif