Altec 1594a Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Anybody have the specs for an Altec 1594a PA system amp ? I picked up a pair of them for $40 just because it seemed like the right thing to do . I would like to find out what the specs say and see if they are suitable for home audio use in a multi amped setup. I'm a financial guy and I'm off into an area that I have no education nor training for but I'm sure having fun. My objective was to setup a tri-amped system but with the acquisition of these 2 boat anchors I'm wondering if they could be used as left and right channel woofer amps ? I have 3 Marantz 1060 amps that I was originally going to use which can now be used for lower mid, upper mid and tweeter ? The active crossover is the missing element at this moment. The Altec 1594a's just looked like something that belonged in the mix somewhere. I'm new to the DIYAudio group and have found the info thus far to be most interesting and valuable in my novice status. Thanks for any help, suggestions, etc. And finally, as my wife asks, Why am I doing this ? Because I can.
Lane

Your 1594's are industrial, professional products. Altec produced three variations of the 1594, the A,B,and C. The A and B version were produced in Anahiem Ca. circ 1960-70, the C version was produced in Oklahoma, circa 1980. The "A" version (which you have) are the first of the line, it has a positive ground as opposed to the B and C version which have a negative ground. That should pose no problem.

They are a very stable amp and because they have an output transformer, have a constant power output of 100 watts regardless of the speaker impedance. The output transformer has 4,8,16 and 70 volt output capabilitys. The input has the capability to use a high or low impedance input device, since your other devices are consumer products you'll be using the high impedance input (terms 1&2).