Help with designing differential amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hello..
i am a newbie in the forum.
reasonably at ease with electronics and working hands on..
built a couple of chipamps based on 1875 and 3886.

Now i want to build a SS power amp.
I have read Randy sloanes and douglas self books on the topic

i wanted to design a small/ medium power amplifer myself as i think it ll be better for my own understanding of the subject..

the amp is based on Linn topology and draws heavily from sloanes teaching ( i think it is far easier)

as in Lin topology i wanted to first design the three stages individually.

attached below is my first attempt at designing the input stage

i am facing several problems with the design.

1. The current source is not sinking 1 ma as designed.
2. The mirror is not effective
Initially the sink current starts off from 220 Ua and the current is evenly split btw the mirror arms.
after sometime(abt a min) the sink current reduces to 40 Ua and the current is not matched. the current in the arms differs by 3-4 Ua.
and slowly the sink current reduces to 0.

I am able to understand the working based on tested designs of sloane and debug it ,but am not able to design a simple one myself.

Help please...!!

Attachments

• diff amp.jpg
    diff amp.jpg
    22.8 KB · Views: 306
First, set the diode current at 1mA by changing R2 to 20K. Make sure the diodes are still good. At 1mA they should each have 0.6V across them. Change R1 to something close to 600 ohm.

You must have a DC bias source for both transistors in the diff pair. 47K to ground will give you that bias so you can check operation.

krish2487 said:
@steve dunlap and @ tze yang

thank you..
it did work
i am posting the updated version
the mirror is accurate to the seconf decimal in ma.
:)

sink current is set to , as u can see, about 100ma
thank you again.