Adcom GFA-555II with DC Offset - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th February 2009, 09:25 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Adcom GFA-555II with DC Offset

Hi,
I have an Adcom GFA-555II that I picked up as a repairable. I'm a hobbyist and have been collecting some test equipment, so I have a scope, transistor testers, capacitor testers, variac and multimeters. I've read through most everything that I could find in this forum, but I'm a little stumped.

Initially, the amp had about 67V of offset in one channel and 45V in the other. I tested all of the transistors and the outputs seemed fine, but I did find the differential input pairs of both channels to have dramatically different gains, so I replaced them (after beta matching them). After that, the offset was around .5 - 1 volt. I then replaced the next stage of transistors and the offset now varies between +/- 20 - 100mv. Also, there is quite a bit of offset when the amp is first turned on. I have another identical working 555II that I'm using as a reference, and the offset is a rock solid 3-5mv. What really has me confused though is that when I hooked the amp up to a pair of test speakers, the woofers seem to be periodically sucked in and out when playing music loudly (maybe every couple of seconds), like the amp isn't doing a good job of controlling the woofer cone. I tested the amp with a sine wave and the wave form seems to look the same at the input and output. Also, I tested the 100 ohm input ground resistors, and they are good.

Any ideas what is causing the offset to vary, and the strange movement of the woofer? Also, this may be a stupid question, but what is amplifier oscillation, and how do you test and measure it?

Thanks!
Old 16th February 2009, 05:22 PM   #2