please help a student out

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
ok, i have another thread open that i invite you to look at in addition to this one. i think different questions are posed in each.

link: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13254

ok as for this, i am a college student and am working on my first major electronics project. I had wanted to build an amplifer using lm1875 and lm3875 chips. it is for a quasi-hi-fi stereo setup. i plan to put an amplifer channel on the 2 tweeters, 2 midranges, and 1 subwoofer (i mean 1 each, so 5 channels). i had planned on a bridge amplifer for the subwoofer to get 100 watts. from the graphs, the 1875 seems not to like voltages above +-30V, and 100watts into the woofer isn't possible unless the voltage is kept near +-30, however, the 3875 charts show (i guess protection circutry...) that the power output will drop off if the supply is brought above +-35V or so.

so this brings me to quesitons about all of this. I am assuming i can't get the +-30V without regualtion.

so this brought me to a different idea, building a different amplfier for the subwoofer. i'd like to get about 100watt-300watts into my 8ohm subwoofer, and i'd like to do so without generating a huge amount of distortion or cash. i'm already over budget (by a lot). in any case it would be ashame if i had to stop the project because of funding.

so i was wondering if there was any kinda cheap amplifer that would work nice with my subwoofer. i figured i'd ask here as any design i find online i'd no doubt ask your help on.

ok. as for transformers. i have these questions. is there any way to use 2 transformers as 1 transformer, like take 2 220V primaries and wire them in series (or parellel) to allow a 110V input?

also any opinions on this: http://sound.westhost.com/project15.htm

Duh, thanks SkinnyBoy, Leadbelly not too swift today...:(