HRII debug thread, post the problems you had here - Page 2 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th November 2008, 07:48 PM   #11
diyAudio Member
 
destroyer X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Recife - Brasil Northeast
Default Zener diode decision.... of course we can discuss this a little bit more


and study, together the one is assembling, the best solution to zener diodes considering their specific supply performance.

We can customize to your needs..we can do that together.

regards,

Carlos
Attached Images
File Type: gif zener decision.gif (16.0 KB, 133 views)
__________________
This Sunday assemble a toy amplifier....a good fun to your weekend; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yk0qvkwsAOY
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2008, 07:51 PM   #12
diyAudio Member
 
destroyer X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Recife - Brasil Northeast
Default With the use of rail regulators you gonna have some capacitance multiplier


effect, as you have condenser into the base that will appear (virtually) into the output multiplied by the transistor gain.

So..if you have 220uf, for instance, into the base, this may represent something alike 22.000 uf into the output... say.... to use 22.000uf into the output or to use 220uf into the base may not result too much different.

But..the real big condensers, if you install there, into the rail regulator emitters to ground.... the surge of current when you switch on and face those rail condensers discharged, may destroy your series pass transistors.

regards,

Carlos
Attached Images
File Type: gif use 220 uf.gif (40.8 KB, 130 views)
__________________
This Sunday assemble a toy amplifier....a good fun to your weekend; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yk0qvkwsAOY
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2008, 07:53 PM   #13
diyAudio Member
 
destroyer X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Recife - Brasil Northeast
Default This explains something about the supply needs


It is a little bit overkilled....you can reduce to 10.000 each rail if you want..but this is to each channel.

If you decide to use a single supply, to feed two channels, better to install, at least, 22.000uf each rail.

Some overkill into supply electrolitic condensers are not a bad idea.

regards,

Carlos
Attached Images
File Type: gif power supply to hrii.gif (10.8 KB, 129 views)
__________________
This Sunday assemble a toy amplifier....a good fun to your weekend; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yk0qvkwsAOY
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2010, 07:59 PM   #14
diyAudio Member
 
meanman1964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belgium the land of chocolate
Carlos can you give me latest updates about this amp regarding the bias settings and if there are any values need to be changed.I like to compair this amp with the Blame ST
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test post thread Mandalabandfan Introductions 3 17th January 2009 11:59 PM
HRII revisiting, have you experienced problems folks? destroyer X Solid State 11 9th October 2008 04:14 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2