New pre-amp kit just arrived in mail

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Well, my new preamp kit just arrived in mail couple days ago from qkits.com, and i've been gathering stuff that i need to build it. Now i just need time :)

The preamp stuff can be found at http://www.velleman.be/Product.asp?lan=1&id=343024

This is my first project .. gotta take it slow, and hopefully not screw anything up :)

now .. I just have a couple questions
of all the components, which ones do i need to heatsink (i.e. its a good idea to even though i can get away w/o doing it) while soldering ..
i know IC's (there's a bunch) and diodes perhaps?
capacitors i know i don't have to .. anything else on the parts list that i might need to heatsink (i.e. LED's, caps, anything you guys can see?)
Also, the kit comes with a 50k ALPS pot .. my question is what sort of quality the pot is generally? also what sort of a difference would i see if i ever put in a 100k pot in there instead of a 50k pot? (sorry, but not too sure on what the difference would be between a 50/100k pot .. and if i can do it .. beginner at most electronics stuff!)

thank you .. i'll try to get some pics up when i'm finished it :)

Hi Elizard, I'll give you a few pointers ;)

The instructions with Velleman kits are usually very specific and if they tell you to use a heatsink on something then do so. Otherwise don't worry about it. Preamps, as a rule, don't use a great deal of power and nothing should get very hot.

The Alps pot is a good one. Use it, get used to it and then if you want to upgrade think about getting a stepped attenuator (or making your own). A 100K pot will only sound better than a 50K if the preceding circuitry needs to feed in to a higher impedance. But if you are just starting out don't worry too much about this sort of thing - you will only get more confused.