Very different hybrid... opinions?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all.

About 5 years ago I came up with this design, which I modelled (I can't remember which SPICE program... may have been MultiSim) and which seemed ok in the virtual world. Now bear in mind, I am no electronics engineer and I was limited to the parts bin of that program. Hence the tubes and some of the semiconductors used.

My design goal was not audio nirvana, but rather to create an amplifier which met the following criteria:

- it should be a hybrid, because I have a real soft spot for tubes and I like their sound
- it should be a balanced design of unique topology, for it's own sake, just to be 'different' - yes, I know some will think that's silly, but I wanted something distinct
- I didn't want any long-tailed pairs
- it should be a current-feedback design, with the tube VAS specifically excluded from the loop.

Ok, so here it is and my questions are:

What do the learned, experienced engineers think, honestly?

What constructive criticisms or tips could you guys offer?

Since I'm now sans SPICE, which simulation package would you guys recommend, bearing in mind the tubes, preferably freeware?

Attachments

• bh_cedar_v3.jpg
    bh_cedar_v3.jpg
    74.3 KB · Views: 818
I see a clever input, using Triodes + P-MOS to produce complementary signals
for the VAS Q2 and Q3.
P MOSFET are IRFD9120 .. which are in IC chip format

The idea looks good to me.
Hybrids are often interesting.

I would try to simplify = less many transistors.
And reduce output power, to suit my own needs.
But for +-60 V supply and at such output powers, those many devices may be needed.

As I do not know anything about 7199P and I am not experienced with tubes:

- How does those 7199P work at 100 Volt?
- What current will run in those 2 Triodes?

DrG