Looking for a project :) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th September 2008, 09:50 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Looking for a project :)

Hi! I'm looking to build myself a stereo system! Pretty much, I'm a broke high school student (barely a senior) looking for some loud, sweet sound at low cost. I have a real appreciation for DIY stuff, as it's usually sturdier, you can tweak it all you want, it's frequently cheaper, and it impresses people, so I though I'd build myself something.

I know at many other forums I've seen people bite at the ambitious and sometimes unrealistic newbie. I am totally inexperienced when it comes to stereo gear, but I have experience in other electronics. I've built many solid state guitar effects boxes, and I've built a tube amp from scratch, and fixed up another amp. So while I'm not a total newbie, forgive me for any stupid questions.

I was planning to build a solid state amp, as even though I'm less experienced in this, it's more efficient, modern, and I can do it for cheaper. Here are some of my first questions:

How many watts should I aim for? I have experience with this when it comes to instrument amplifiers, but that's different because they're narrower frequency bands, and of course quality of reproduction (distortion, etc.) isn't necessarily considered a bad thing, at all. Do I have to worry about usable headroom with solid state? (For amps I have more experience with tube systems.) Generally, it just boils down to me wondering how many watts I need to properly fill a reasonably sized room with sound.