Function of Output Inductor - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st July 2008, 01:05 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Function of Output Inductor

I am new to amplifier circuit design so please excuse my ignorance.

I noticed that some amplifier circuit have an output inductor parallel with a 8 to 10 ohm resistor. Could someone educate me as to the function of the inductor? What is the benefit of this part? For a high current amplifier driving a low impedence load, this part would seem to contribute considerable amout of DC resistance or cause the inductor to go into saturation. I may be mistaken about this saturation stuff since it is an air core inductor.
Old 1st July 2008, 01:09 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

air core inductors cant saturate. Thats why they are used in passive Xovers (and a few other kinds of circuits). I don't do much in the way of SS amps outside of gainclones so I cant tell you what the circuit does or what it is for.
Old 1st July 2008, 03:26 AM   #3
Eva is offline Eva  Spain
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Eva
The inductor is there to isolate the internal feedback loop of the amplifier from external RF signals picked up by speaker wiring, crossover coils, driver voice coils, etc.. and from the own RF resonances of these elements.

Above audio frequencies, the internal RC dummy load should always dominate against external loads.
Old 1st July 2008, 04:12 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Inductor isolates the capacitive loads from the feedback loop.

There goes to show that opinion is like an A** hole, everybody have one!
Old 1st July 2008, 04:47 PM   #5
diyAudio Member