HIGH Fidelity-amp discussion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi,

I am just wondering about "HIGH Fidelity amp with mid watts by using 8 pair of 2sc5200 and watts can be 100 to 150rms...making class AB amp. Is it possible to make?

As I have seen some very expensive amp using many power transistors to produce nice strong sound but in mid output watts. I have found that low fidelity amp doesn’t produce strong life sound.

I am not an engineer as I said earlier. I might be wrong but I want to understand.

Thank you
michael

space2000 said:
hi,

I am just wondering about "HIGH Fidelity amp with mid watts
by using 8 pair of 2SC5200 and watts can be 100 to 150 Wrms...making class AB amp. Is it possible to make?

As I have seen some very expensive amp using many power transistors to produce nice strong sound but in mid output watts. I have found that low fidelity amp doesn’t produce strong life sound.

I am not an engineer as I said earlier. I might be wrong but I want to understand.

Thank you
michael

'mid watts'
maybe like 100-150 Watts into 4 Ohm or 8 Ohm speakers

'using 8 pair of 2SC5200'
Now 8 Pairs, is same as 8x2 = 16 Transistors 2 SC5200.
What is not clear, is if you ONLY will use NPN 2SC5200
... or if you mean PNP, 2SA1943, too

=======================

If you only want to use NPN transistors (only 2SC5200),
you should search forum for
'Quasi' or
'N-Channel' ... amplifier

Because this is what we normally call amplifiers with only NPN output devices.

This is one way, to try to make Truly Complementry Amplifier
Because there is No case, of perfect complementary NPN + PNP pairs, not yet ;)

regars, lineup

space2000 said:
I am just wondering about "HIGH Fidelity amp with mid watts by using 8 pair of 2sc5200 and watts can be 100 to 150rms...making class AB amp. Is it possible to make?
Hi