Sansui 9090 DB help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
:scratch1:
I am a newbie to the forum and I am looking for advice with a problem with my 9090.
Problem:
After a few minutes of play, the right channel drops out. After a long while, it will kick back in. I believe that a power transistor is overheating.
Questions:
1. Could someone please tell me if I am on the right track about the cause?
2. What are the correct, currently available, parts needed for repair and...
3. Should I also do the same to the left channel while I'm inside the unit?

Thanks to all for any help and advice.

Hi nukei&c,

first of all you better download the service manual for your 9090 (i.e. from http://www.eserviceinfo.com/downloadsm/23270/Sansui_9090.html, it's a multipart download - which consists of only two <*.RAR> archive files).

According to your fault description it looks really like a thermal fault, but where it's located could be just a guess and without measuring certain things you won't find it anyway.

Since the protection circuit, and therefore the output relay, cuts off both channels at the same time it can't be any fault condition of the driver amp itself - or does any protection indicator light up and the relay just fails to disconnect one channel?

If you want you can go step by step through the troubleshooting chart (chapter 5) and check everything mentioned. A good point to start, if on the dropped channel appears no noise or anything else, is to check all power supply values if they're in range.