Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State
Home Forums Rules Articles Store Gallery Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd April 2008, 02:24 AM   #1
gain is offline gain  United States
diyAudio Member
 
gain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default fake transistors

just wanted to let the community know that i recently received a batch of completely fake toshiba transistors from

ACME Enterprises of Orlando
6192 Edgewater Drive
Orlando FL 32810 USA
1-800-575-9833

http://www.acme-sales.net/

so please be careful if you decide to order from these people. they most certainly do ship fakes, despite the numerous promises to the contrary on their website.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2008, 03:38 AM   #2
sandyK is offline sandyK  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney
Default fake transistors

gain

Have you informed either Toshiba or NESDA, of which this company is a member ? I noticed that false or misleading advertising is high on the list in the NESDA charter.
I hope that you are 100% correct with your claims, and that the company named was not aware that they were selling fakes.
Don't forget that you are living in the land where suing somebody appears to be a national pastime ! No offence intended.

SandyK
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2008, 05:35 AM   #3
Bigred is offline Bigred  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
If your talking about the 2SC830 transistors you were searching for I DID tell you to contact me. My buddy still has some of those toshiba trannies that I can assure you are not fakes. Your loss
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2008, 04:49 PM   #4
gain is offline gain  United States
diyAudio Member
 
gain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
SandyK: Thanks for the info. How would one go about notify toshiba and/or NESDA? I too hope they were not aware, but these are most certainly 100% fake. A CHILD could look at these and tell they are not toshiba. I don't really want to get anyone in trouble or sue them, I just don't want anyone else to get ripped off like i did.

Bigred: Sorry dont want to comment on the exact part I ordered due to the possibility of being personally identified.

regards
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2008, 08:59 PM   #5
sandyK is offline sandyK  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney
Default fake transistors

gain
I found the NESDA site by "Googling" The original site states that he is a member of NESDA.
I was more concerned about you being sued.

SandyK
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 07:09 AM   #6
d3imlay is offline d3imlay  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ohio
Have you notified the vendor?
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 09:14 AM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Lazy Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default Re: fake transistors

Quote:
Originally posted by gain
just wanted to let the community know that i recently received a batch of completely fake toshiba transistors from

ACME Enterprises of Orlando
6192 Edgewater Drive
Orlando FL 32810 USA
1-800-575-9833

http://www.acme-sales.net/

so please be careful if you decide to order from these people. they most certainly do ship fakes, despite the numerous promises to the contrary on their website.

Why are you so surprised, the name of the company should tell you who are you dealing with, ACME - A Company that Make Everything, just imagine what kind of things you can order there, even fake transistors ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2008, 12:19 AM   #8
Derk is offline Derk  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Were do you guys recommend to buy quality components without breaking the bank? I was thinking of building c200 amp on ampslab.com

http://www.ampslab.com/c200.htmc200

Thats when I was looking on ebay for part MJ15004 and found this:

MJ15004

If you scroll half way done you can see detailed pictures of fake transistors. It makes me scared to buy stuff on ebay.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2008, 02:57 PM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
The ones on the photo are looking genuine parts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2008, 03:13 PM   #10
zlast is offline zlast  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: none
Send a message via AIM to zlast Send a message via MSN to zlast Send a message via Yahoo to zlast
Default Fake Transistors

Please post some pictures of the transistors. HAve you tested the transistors in any way ? If the transistors are fake, contact the seller immediately! Provide them with the information (web pages etc) that verify the transistors being fake. The seller is probably unaware the transistors are not original, and will work to remedy the situation.
__________________
none
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Fake Transistors DieterD Solid State 43 30th October 2011 08:26 AM
Fake transistors? spooney Car Audio 16 29th February 2008 08:38 PM
Fake transistors? alexan Parts 3 28th December 2006 02:26 PM
fake transistors tinkerbell Solid State 17 19th January 2006 11:51 AM
Fake Transistors MGR Solid State 10 28th October 2002 10:46 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:32 PM.

Page generated in 0.10490 seconds (80.19% PHP - 19.81% MySQL) with 10 queries

Copyright ©1999-2012 diyAudio