Help needed to fix channel Conrad Johnson Sonographe amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I have no experience in fixing/building amps and your help/advise will be really appreciated.

I have a Sonographe SA-120 amp (Conrad Johnson entry level in the 80s, which I understand is a Fet amp).

I short circuited the left channel speaker cables while trying a new bsc circuit and the channel went off. After replacing one fuss that had blown up I only get a very low level, highly distorted sound on that channel. So it seems that something else got damaged within the channel's output stage. The other channel works fine.

Here is a photo of the open amp:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/11571687@N02/2410432248/in/set-72157603119448350/

The question is: Is it realistic to try to fix it myself (ie to get a multimeter and try to locate the damaged component and replace them)?? or I should have it repaired. The problem is that I live in London, England and here these sort of repairs are generally very expensive and I suspect it is not worth paying much to repair this amp. However, the amp has served me for 20 years and I like its sound, so I would like to fix it.

If it is feasible to do a DIY repair I would be grateful if anyone could guide me where to start.

Or maybe someone knows a good repairman in London.

Many thanks in advance.

Antonio

Inevitable: At least one blown output device
Possible: One or more blown driver devices
Hopefully unlikely: Blown devices in front end
I've got a fairly decent selection of older Conrad Johnson schematics, but they're all for the tube gear--not solid state. Start making a list of the nomenclature on the transistors--particularly the big ones attached to the heat sinks. Those will be the output devices. The next thing to do is to verify that those MOSFETs are still made. That may make up your mind for you without having to get into heavy diagnostics.