Background Noise (Hiss) -- How to Trace

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I recently bought 2 receivers to play with (fix or break – whatever the fates have in store): a Yamaha CR-240 and a Sansui 6060.

I have cleaned up the controls so they work quietly.

They both have some noticeable hiss – the Sansui is much more noticeable. At first I had naively thought I could replace some capacitors to take care of this. Then I searched this forum and found that resolving hiss may be more complicated.

The hiss in the Sansui starts at ¼ turn of the volume knob and remains constant at higher volumes. The hiss in the Yamaha is proportional to volume.

I have an oscilloscope and a VOM, but I am a novice at this (1 college general electronics course long ago).

At any rate, I have some questions:

1. As I trace the circuits (live), what should I be looking for on the oscilloscope, as far as hiss goes?

2. As a variation of #1, when I probe a capacitor in the circuit, what should I be looking for to differentiate good capacitor from bad?

3. I have looked for visible evidence of blown capacitors. The larger ones sit in puddles of hard goop, which I originally thought were leaked electrolyte. After more study, I suspect this is in fact adhesive. Were larger electrolytic capacitors commonly glued to the boards?

Thanks.

Prepare yourself for a journey - tracing hiss is not particularly easy.

Hiss is essentially a form of noise, and has many sources. A possible reason you notice more noise with one amp is that it has a higher gain, thereby making the hiss louder. Capacitors are very far down the list of possible noise sources, so look elsewhere first.

What kind of scope do you have - and what is is finest volts/division setting?

Your questions:

1. this is noise: http://www.cliftonlaboratories.com/userimages/tl750l10.jpg