power amp repair - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th March 2008, 12:16 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default power amp repair

Hi all.
I'm a newbie to this forum.
I'm working on a very old Crown power amp and am looking for a good reference book that has waveform analysis. ie:if I feed a 1k sine wave into it and get something else on the scope, the book can lead me in the right direction as to what the new waveform means. I have a dual trace scope.
I'm in the Toronto gta.
Thanks

Cracklin
Old 10th March 2008, 03:05 AM   #2
expert in tautology
diyAudio Member

DC-300?
D-150?
D-60?

Get the schematic.

All power amps tend to follow a similar receipe:

gain stage in the front end/phase inverter, something to drive the outputs, something to spread the voltage apart from the drivers for the upper and lower rails, and then usually a current gain output stage in the form of a follower.

Since these amps have big feedback, you'll get garbage out or nothing much out if any of the devices are toast.

What one usually wants to do is to look for obvious failures like burnt resistors, and shorted transistors.

You may want to look for the magic ~0.6vdc base to emitter drop on the transistors - if it's not there, then there is a problem.

Excess current is also a clue...

Often one actually has to remove the transistors and test them.

The early Crowns used an IC in the front end, that can die too.

There is no book that I know of that explains amplifier troubleshooting very well, or if there was one, one that you could just read and follow along without some real knowledge of how circuits work.

Sorry for the bad news...

Otoh, folks here can answer questions about how the circuit works...

_-_-bear