Computer amplifier.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions on an amplifier circuit that I can build for an upcoming computer speaker set that I will be building. TIA for any input!

P.S. I've read on this section of the forums and someone was raving about the sound from an eight-watt amplifier...eight watts? Wouldn't you need more? I'm asking these questions because the last thread that I posted did not receive any replies! Now, I'm getting close to building the speakers and would be forced to buy a plate-amp because I would be left out alone in the rain again. Yes, I am new to building amplifiers in general and need to start somewhere. Also, I have basic knowledge of circuits, have used ICs, resistors, caps (no transformers yet), and such with some breadboards but, am bored of making blinking LEDs and want some DIY audio!

The simplest amplifier you could build is something like the gainclone. Search the board for gainclone or inverted gainclone.... You could build this circuits with any high power / high voltage / high current operational amplifier, the cheapest solution is ordering a sample at national or ti (opa549). If you want to learn more build a discrete amp and have a look at www.passdiy.com

8 Watt enough depends only on your speaker and how loud you expect to use them. I made an 1 Watt amp with SSM2211 chip (see pic) and with this little speaker connected on the pic its very silent. But if i use it on the big speakers (horns) it is absolute loud enough. One of the national or ti opamps will give you easy 50W or more if you need them and build a big enough powers supply.

Attachments

• image0015.jpg
    image0015.jpg
    19.8 KB · Views: 559
Bose(o) said: