Basic Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am currently working on my home theater system. I have a 5.1 digital reciever.Presently I am building speakers and I would like to incorporate an amp. I was just wondering how would I use an amplifier with my reciever? How do I get mor power to the speakers? Do I connect an amp after my reciever, before the speakers. do I need a preamp. This may sound like a stupid question but I'm new to this. All of this is really confusing. I am trying to learn as much as possible. I think that I am trying to soak up to much information at once and I am just missing the obvious. If anyone has any information to help I thank you for it. Sorry you have to deal with(or not deal with, your choice) my incompitance.

P.S. Could any body show me any pictures of there systems and how they have things set up.

Thanks again

You would run the left and right channel outputs from the back of the receiver to the inputs on your amplifier, which are likely to be RCA plugs. If you'd like, you can still use the binding posts and the built in amp in the receiver for use in biamplifying the speakers, if your speakers allow this.

ex:
Binding posts from receiver connect to binding posts on speakers for the high-pass filter

Receiver left/right out to amplifer left/right in. Binding posts from amplifier to binding posts for speaker's low-pass filter.

The receiver can be used as your preamp/processor/dac if necessary. You do not need to purchase these components separately if you don't desire to do so.

[Edited by Super on 11-15-2001 at 09:56 PM]

A receiver incorporates a tuner, preamp, and power amplifiers all in the same box. If you want to get more power by adding external power amplifiers, you may be able to access the preamp output.