Sony TA F240 blowing fuses - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th December 2007, 10:20 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Sony TA F240 blowing fuses

I have an old Sony TA F240 Amplifier which stopped working.

The Amp fails to switch on so i whipped the cover off and had a poke around the power supply and i noticed the slow blow or time delay fuse was blown so i put in a replacement (T2.5A 250V)I also noticed that the little pcb it was mounted on had come loose from transformer itself and soldered that back up aswell. Feeling fairly pleased with myself i screwed it all back together switched it on and was rewarded with a flash of light and a newly blown fuse. At this point the internet and guess work fails me so...

My question is this what could be causing this and how do i fix it?

Other than fixing and modifying guitars this is my first time. be gentle.

Cheers guys.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2008, 08:24 PM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Send a message via MSN to sinistersoulz
Did you sort this? I have exactly the same amp and I love it but it blew on sunday the 13th =[ it smoked so i took the plug out. but it wont turn back on just like yours. you say there is some kind of internal fuse and something else? could i have a dummies guide to this please?
Click the image to open in full size.

btw this is mine and was wondering if you could point out aswell to just where what your describing is?
please add me on msn at menacingvandals@hotmail.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2008, 10:03 PM   #3
jaycee is offline jaycee  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Norwich, UK
Chances are one or more output transistors have blown.

This needs someone who knows what they're doing to repair - find a good repair shop.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2008, 01:01 PM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Send a message via MSN to sinistersoulz
Thank you. Reckon it will be repairable? cheap fix or expensive?
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2008, 01:25 PM   #5
Mooly is online now Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator
 
Mooly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nothings cheap to fix these days. As Jaycee says you need someone who knows what they are doing. Using unsuitable substitute semiconductors is a recipe for disaster, it might be O.K. for short while only, plus there could be underlying reason for failure in first place. But having said that if you can come up with circuit anything is possible even fixing it.
Regards Karl
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2008, 03:54 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Send a message via MSN to sinistersoulz
The cause I would have though would be where I was rewiring my speakers at the time that a wire went were it wasnt supposed to and being the tard that i am hadnt turned the amp off and had left it at a high volume level.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2008, 01:14 AM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Hey Guys totally forgot about this post!

Click the image to open in full size.

the red circle is the board and the green is where the anti surge fuse is, it will switch on with a new fuse but then blows again and some of the contacts on the board are knackered could this be the problem?.

I'm not that bothered i have another amp but it would be nice to have one for my kitcehn for rock and roll cooking!
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 04:31 PM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Send a message via MSN to sinistersoulz
Thanks for the reply josh I miss my loud music =[
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 01:02 AM   #9
jaycee is offline jaycee  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Norwich, UK
Sinistersoulz, you will definitely have blown the output transistors in the amp, and possibly more parts. Shorting the output is probably the worst thing you can do to a power amplifier, so the damage is likely to be extensive and not cost effective to fix.

joshvegas, if the fuse blows its because theres a fault somewhere else in the circuit. "Some of the contacts are knackered", which ones? Why did the amp pop its fuse in the first place?
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 09:08 PM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I have no idea why it blew it just did!

on the indicated board some of the soldering joints look decidedly shaky! particularly the ones connecting the board to the transformer.

Sorry I can't be more specific The amp is at my parents at the moment!


Thanks for taking the time to reply to a total dunce!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help: amp blowing fuses Saurav Tubes / Valves 2 1st July 2009 03:17 PM
Keep Blowing Fuses Whiting Tubes / Valves 9 11th September 2008 10:44 PM
Car Amp help? Fuses blowing... Tolo Car Audio 1 3rd December 2007 02:42 PM
The Fuses Just Keep Blowing raffir Chip Amps 19 22nd June 2003 04:49 AM
Why does my PSU KEEP blowing fuses?! Rarkov Parts 29 17th October 2002 04:35 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:48 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2