Hafler TA1600 recapping... looking for more bass - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th December 2007, 02:43 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Hafler TA1600 recapping... looking for more bass

Hi,
I have a TA1600 thats starting to give off some hissing like a waterfall so I'm going to try to recap it. I'm a newbie to diy amplifiers but have a little knowledge. I'm thinking of recapping the unit but was wondering if it were possible to increase the bass response. If I increase the main caps uf would that help? I've noticed a deterioration in sound and also the bass is becoming almost non-existent. I have the scematic for some reference but it's too big to attach. These are some other things I would like to try in the future:
1)Putting a cap on the on/off switch and power and also putting a cap on the iec.
2)Removing the volume pot all together or find a way to bypass it.

It's a cheap little amp so I'm not afraid of ruining it. I thought it would be a good amp to start my diying on it. Thans for any help...JohnnyP.
Old 27th December 2007, 06:30 AM   #2
djk is offline djk
diyAudio Member

"bass is becoming almost non-existent"

First thing to check is the big cap in the feedback loop to ground.
Old 27th December 2007, 07:10 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi, I am definitely not an expert on this subject, but I do own a Hafler amp, and I do have a similar 'lack of bass' experience.

djk is right, on my amp, it is a 6.3V 1000uF cap.

If you do not already have a .01uF 1KV ceramic across the power switch, put it in (and replace the power switch if necessary).

The only other thing I have to add here is that it could also be your big main caps showing their age. Testing for ripple is a good first step.