Understanding output stage SOA??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am working on a high power amplifier at the moment and i am studying the output stage.

I am trying to understand how a designer chooses devices and the number of them for a particular design.

for example. the amp i am working on now has 16 output devices per channel MJ21194/93 devices 250v 16 amp rated devices.

Studying the spec sheet i was looking at the SOA curve and noticed that at 100V the devices is rated for about 2 amp's for 1 second and probably 1 amp for long periods.

Stay with me now i am covering a lot of ground.

So if each device can handle 1 amp safely at or near the voltage that is going to be used. How to you calculate the number of devices needed for a particular power output?

Working the problem backwards This amp is rated for 365w/PC @ 8 ohms 650 watts @ 4 ohms and 1000 watts @ 2 ohms. the math on this equates to 6.7 amps for 8 ohms, 12.75 amps for 4 ohms and just over 22 amps at 2 ohms.

So if we figured 1 amp per output device. thats 8 amps per polarity. and 16 amps total.

So question #1 do you figure for only one output stage polarity? as only one bank will be conducting at a time. If that is the case then the amp crosses the SOA at 4 ohms. 8 devices x 1 amp = 8 amps

If you use all output devices, in this case 16, 16 x 1 amp = 16 amps. then reaching the current rating at 4 ohms is within the SOA but at 2 ohms. we come dangerously close to the max SOA of the devices. If we pushed the devices right up to the edge of there SOA at 1.5 amps per device, we get 16x1.5= 24 amps and we are within limits again.

BUT, that amp had better have some good cooling or POOF!