RMI-FC100, a single stage audio power amplifier

Hi,

Is it worthwhile adding some kind of mods like technics ouput scheme to make output transistors free from switching?

Just curious..

Atiq

Attachments

• technics_explanation_schematic.jpg
    technics_explanation_schematic.jpg
    25.4 KB · Views: 1,511
Mihai,

I am curious about how you arived at the particular component values for your Zobel network. Not critizing, because I am not an expert here.

I ask because in Self's treatment of the matter he indicated that the resistor is usually selected to be about the same as the speaker load, with the capacitor at 100nf, and concluded that it simply worked that way. Although he tried different resistor values to no gain, he didn't mention any experiments to change the 100nf cap.

Mihai,

What kind of package is D1 1n4148? Can't see it between the transistors in your photos. Is it a DO-35 package? I ask because I assume the diode is stood up with the leads bent over at the top, and I see that the resistor in series with it has an insulated lead, yet there is no reason the resistor and diode can't touch, since they are connected together anyway.

pooge said:
Mihai,

What kind of package is D1 1n4148? Can't see it between the transistors in your photos. Is it a DO-35 package? I ask because I assume the diode is stood up with the leads bent over at the top, and I see that the resistor in series with it has an insulated lead, yet there is no reason the resistor and diode can't touch, since they are connected together anyway.

The 1N4148 diode has 1W glass package. I don't know the code name of the capsule...
The diode leg is isolated in order to not dissipate heat into cascode voltage reference 10Kohm resitor.
We want that diode to closely track the thermal variance of the cascode devices.

roender said:

Yes Andrew, good idea.
I was thinking to cut the power when heat sink temperature is over 85C