i'd like info on a recently acquired amp please - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th October 2007, 02:04 PM   #1
oddetc is offline oddetc  United States
diyAudio Member

Default i'd like info on a recently acquired amp please

I'm new to this scene, but pretty into it so far. A friend of mine gave me an old Bryke Home Amp he had sitting around -- not working. I've been in the process of ripping it apart and cleaning up the insides to, hopefully, get it working.
What's weird is that I cannot find any info on this amp anywhere on the internet. I'm pretty sure it's a solid state amp, but am new to all this, so I am not 100% sure (sorry if I am in the wrong spot). Here are some before and after pictures. It's still under construction as I still have to fabricate some speaker enclosures for a pair of Rainbow Speakers I plan on hooking up.

Here are the pictures

Any info on the amp at all is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Old 19th October 2007, 02:33 PM   #2
gni is offline gni  United States
diyAudio Member

Being new. . .please be carefull around those 16000uF caps. . . they
don't care what they discharge through. . . including you. Measure
the DC voltage across them. . .discharge with a suitable resistor and
leave it attached while working on the unit--caps have a tendency to
bounce back.

I would disconnect all amplifier circuits and fully test the power
supply. . .caps still good. . .ground good. . . discharge rate. . . load
test. . . measure the transformer. . . I assume that is what you did
in the pictures. . .

As for the amp section. . . maybe someone on the DIY audio has one. .
that would be good. . . otherwise it will take someone with considerable
knowledge to troubleshoot the amp circuit without a schematic.