Band PA Question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all, i have been a reader and builder on the chip amp forum for a few years and have built 2 chip amps for my bands use (we gig rarely as our guitar player has moved 250 miles away,but we push on anyway). I've built all the speakers and electronics(except crossover) and have had good success using my LM4780 amp to power my Folded Horn Subs (courtesy of Bill Fitzmaurice designs T-39's) and am using a LM3886 design for the mains(which consist of 18 4" drivers arrayed in a vertical tower design on each side. Very loud with not much power put to them). At louder volume levels I am finding out that the 3886 amp can't keep up with the Subs. This got me to thinking about instead of building another 4780 maybe I should try a solid state amp with 3 channels of available power so I cold power both the mains and the subs with one amp. The subs would be run mono and present a 5 ohm load when parallel and the tops would be run stereo with each side a 6 ohm load. Can someone suggest an amp design(point me in the right direction) that would provide 300 watts to the sub channel and about 200 watts to the mains that is solid enough to withstand a bit of road abuse. Thanks for any help getting me started on the right path.

Mark

For this sort of power, you definitely want a discrete design. Chipamps in parallel/bridge just won't be reliable for this sort of use.

I would probably recommend looking at Marcus Gunnarson's M250 amplifier - http://marcusgun.awardspace.com/m250.html

There is also The Leach Amp - http://users.ece.gatech.edu/~mleach/lowtim - however that is more designed with domestic use in mind, whereas Marcus's was designed for PA use (and has more pairs of output transistors with that in mind).