Guys......Need help in an AMP Prj

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey there everyone.......
before i start let me give u a background........
i am a beginner in electronics........got an idea to assemble a Subwoofer based system for my PC..........planned to used two locally available kits( i'll mention them later).....planned to install a 4th order cross over (that i designed using TL074) and it works perfectlly......(lucky me...considering my knowledge).......

The Amp Kits
Well i purchased the kits using the circuit pretty much like the one in the link below

http://sound.westhost.com/project3a.htm

Well not exectly but the concept is same(Components values r
different even the transistors.)

Kit 1

To power a 12" Sub that would be placed in a transmission line Box.....the Kit has 2SD-1047 NPN power transistors.....PNP's not used......and vendor claims that it can handle two 12" subs(kit is two channel) but to a reasonable power.......having 0.47 5W output resistors

Kit 2

To power two 4" mids with tweaters for just the vocals, the smaller kit has 2N3055 output transistors.........pretty much like the above mentioned circuit

So Where the problem is????????

two questions to ask

1 Can Kit 1 be used in BTL mode by providing inverted signal to channel 2 and connecting speaker b/w both the outputs......Inverted signal will be provided by TL071...Would it really make a difference if only single channel is capable ov providin the power.......

2 Kit 2 with 2N3055 is heating too much at a resonable power output..they r good during normal biasing but when output is taken they start to reach SUPER NOVA....i have confirmed that the transistors are of low quality(fake) n planning to swap them with good ones(reletively better ones)......