Best OP Amplifier in the World!! Look Amp Circuit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

This is the absolute best OP amplifier circuit that I have ever heard! It can be used in amplifiers or preamps alike.

In amplifiers, this dual jfet input stage would be followed by a bipolar voltage stage and a mosfet output. (2sk134 and 2sj49)

The amplifier could have an extremely high frequency bandwidth and high slew rate, i.e. DC-500kHz at +/- 1dB.

I've been an audio engineer for over 11 years now and can tell you guys that nothing compares!

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z105/invictus005/OPAmp.jpg

Norbert

Disabled Account
Joined 2006
Hello Nagys,

Thanks for sharing your interesting idea.

For info, some people have found advantage in the following:

1. Add a capacitor from the junction of the cascode resistors (51k, 33k) to ground, to reduce power supply influence on the bias voltage.

2. Replace the 75r resistors with a potentiometer (with the wiper connected to the "tail" of the differential), so that the off-set of the final circuit can be tweaked towards zero.

3. Use a LED to bias the "tail" constant current source instead of the zener diode, to increase CCS temperature stability.

Good luck.

2. Replace the 75r resistors with a potentiometer (with the wiper connected to the "tail" of the differential), so that the off-set of the final circuit can be tweaked towards zero.
Hi,
do not deliberately unbalance the inherently balanced input stage.

Apply a correction elsewhere to zero out any DC output offset.

A discrete cascode Jfet input stage sounds quite normal, although the BJT version is a bit more common.
This type of circuit powers most competent power amp front ends.
Some builders even use part of a Jfet opamp input stage feeding the power amp to gain the advantage of the matched pairs (and laser trimmed) inside the IC.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Norbert,