DIY amp for B&W 805's? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th July 2007, 09:39 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Cool DIY amp for B&W 805's?

Hi all,

I was just able to finagle my way into a pair of B&W 805's at a great price (It's good to have worked for a dealer!) - I was expecting to get some Rotel equipment to pair them with...but I realistically can't afford $3000 worth of equipment right now. So, my mind got to wandering into the DIY realm. I'm an electrical engineer fresh out of college, with a good amount of high voltage experience and a healthy amount of audio-specific experience too (fixing some old tube stuff, making a great sounding SS headphone amp...I'll likely make another post concerning THAT later).

Anyway I'd like to make myself a good sounding amp to do these speakers justice...I don't think my kenwood HT receiver is going to cut it for very long! I'm not sure if I just want to build a power amp and use the kenwood for a pre for now...or just go for an integrated. Or a separate pre/power. The 805's are not particularly efficient, weighing in at 88 dB, so I would imagine I'd need a design with a fair amount of good power. Maybe somewhere in the realm of 100W? It seems like there are so many good designs out there, it's a bit overwhelming trying to fish through everything.

Does anyone have any ideas/thoughts/suggestions/incoherent ramblings? Any and all help would be much appreciated.

Thanks much,
Bob
Old 5th July 2007, 09:48 PM   #2
troystg is offline troystg  United States
diyAudio Member

Without hesitation....

My "audiophile" LM3886 approach

Edit: I owned the 805 matrix version. They worked well together.