DIY amp for B&W 805's?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
DIY amp for B&W 805's?

Hi all,

I was just able to finagle my way into a pair of B&W 805's at a great price (It's good to have worked for a dealer!) - I was expecting to get some Rotel equipment to pair them with...but I realistically can't afford $3000 worth of equipment right now. So, my mind got to wandering into the DIY realm. I'm an electrical engineer fresh out of college, with a good amount of high voltage experience and a healthy amount of audio-specific experience too (fixing some old tube stuff, making a great sounding SS headphone amp...I'll likely make another post concerning THAT later).

Anyway I'd like to make myself a good sounding amp to do these speakers justice...I don't think my kenwood HT receiver is going to cut it for very long! I'm not sure if I just want to build a power amp and use the kenwood for a pre for now...or just go for an integrated. Or a separate pre/power. The 805's are not particularly efficient, weighing in at 88 dB, so I would imagine I'd need a design with a fair amount of good power. Maybe somewhere in the realm of 100W? It seems like there are so many good designs out there, it's a bit overwhelming trying to fish through everything.

Does anyone have any ideas/thoughts/suggestions/incoherent ramblings? Any and all help would be much appreciated.

Thanks much,
Bob

Without hesitation....

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=54571

Edit: I owned the 805 matrix version. They worked well together.

I then recycled the 6.5" mid added the Scan Speak 9900 Revelator tweeters and a LEAP crossover from Meniscus in new enclosures.. Mauro's amp still did it justice.

Only reason I recycled the 805's was because the tweeter pods finally broke after repeated knock overs by children.. What can ya do.. :rolleyes: