Delay turn on circuit for amps

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
Does implementing a delay turn on circuit in addition to the on/off switch in a power amp degrade the quality ? I want to avoid the thump on turn on. Is there any good quality rely circuit available which implement good contact using special metals or any such ? What is the recommended part for this used for very high quality amps ?
Links to people who sell these and high quality on/off switchs will be much appreciated.

I think I’ll explain further. I am a newbie in DIY but an audiophile for some 15 years or so.
I have seen that most branded amplifiers have some soft start function to the on/off switch. This prevents that thump from the speakers that happens with sudden power up. I think it works when powering down too. I have seen this implemented in quite expensive (good sounding amps) too. I want to know how this is done. Most DIY folk do not implement this fearing degradation to the sound. But I am assuming there must be a good way to achieve this with the right kind of high quality “soft start “ circuit or other solution. Any thoughts ? Any recommended ready-made circuits or other solution / work-around available? I may get into a semi-diy power amp project soon.
I am a minimalist at heart, so would like to keep as less parts / bottle necks in the signal path as possible.

richie00boy said:
I think you have the wrong idea Per-Anders, he wants something to disconnect the speaker at turn-on to avoid passing the pop to his speaker.

There can be quality issues with some relays. It's not easy to find out which ones are good though.

:blush: I misunderstood a bit. Sure, the wrong type of relay can surely degrade performance.

Hardsilver contacts are pretty good and quite common since AgCdS is forbidden.

square_wave said: