The Citation 16A resurrection project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.

taj

diyAudio Member
Joined 2005
I've inherited a great project. I was given a Harman Kardon Citation 16 chassis including power transformers; heatsinks with output devices and emitter resistors; and the protection relay PCB.

What I didn't get was the main "driver" PCBs -- the main amplifier circuit itself. And the amplifier was a plain-faced version which didn't come with those trademark V shaped LED arrays.

So my project will be to re-create the missing parts for this puppy based on the information contained in the service manual for the Citation 16A, the discrete version of this amplifier. I will create all the missing circuit boards and add the LED arrays for fun.

But I'm going to need help since I'm just learning electronics. Especially given the age of this circuit and its parts list. Hence the thread.

..Todd

taj

diyAudio Member
Joined 2005
The first question that comes to mind is regarding some nomenclature in the parts list...

Many of the small signal transistors are labeled PNP GP or NPN GP. Does the GP just mean "general purpose" so that my pile of 2n5551/5401's will fit the bill?

And for the input differential pair (a nameless dual NPN job), will a pair of matched, thermally coupled 2SC2240's be adequate? They are low noise, linear...

..Todd

taj

diyAudio Member
Joined 2005
By the way, I've created drawings for all of the PCB's for DIY board etching. They are PDF files meant for printing out and home etching, not Gerber files for professional manufacturing. All the boards are single sided.

I don't know how to use any of those PCB CAD programs. But I am a technical [computer] illustrator, so the drawings are quite satisfactory, and accurate since I traced the parts layout from the service manual (with a few minor tweaks here and there).