Has anybody successfully built any Bryston power amps? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th June 2007, 10:53 PM   #1
Renx is offline Renx  Croatia
diyAudio Member

Question Has anybody successfully built any Bryston power amps?

Hi,
I have been reading through a couple of posts on building Bryston clones, and was wondering if anybody has successfully done it. So far I have seen that only djmiddelkoop has done it, and that post is more than 3 years old. I am wondering how much it costs, how does it sound (compared to the original) and so on.
I am thinking of giving a go at 3B SST, but since I'm a beginner in electronics, it will probably take me pretty long (I just recently found out that doa68 wasn't a commercial op amp, but brystons it's schematic is also available on bryston site).
Anyway, I am currently sourcing the parts for this unit ...
Any information would be helpful.

Thanks in advance,
Renx!
Old 5th June 2007, 01:11 AM   #2
Leolabs is offline Leolabs  Malaysia
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Leolabs
First thing to get in mind when trying to clone a Bryston amp is how do
u design a really good PCB layout as a more than usuall feedback loops are going around at the output stages!
Old 5th June 2007, 07:34 AM   #3
PMA is offline PMA  Europe
diyAudio Member

Renx,

IMHO it is not a good idea to copy Bryston as your 1st project. Collect several years of experience and then you may try it.
Old 5th June 2007, 11:50 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Thanks for your replys!
I have only slim experience in building hi-end solid state pre amps, but none in power amps!