Noob looking for ideas for first power amp project - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd May 2007, 02:02 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to floatingkiwi
Default Noob looking for ideas for first power amp project

Hi all

I'm a first time DIY'er looking for ideas to build my first power amp. I'll be using it as the stereo amp for my existing gear: (with the 4306 as the preamp unless I am persuaded otherwise!) If it came out right I would eventually make another with 3 channels to amplify the rest of my gear, or possibly create a seperate Stereo only rack with some sort of preamp.

I'm an engineer so very handy with my hands (pun unintended...) but again, I haven't attempted anything like this before. I have modded my old 67SE a bit though with no problems.
I would like around 100W I think. I don't listen loud but I do believe that the bit of extra power tightens things up abit (AFAIK).

Here is my gear: **Arcam DV139 - Marantz CD67SE - Denon AVR4306 - B&W DM603S3, LCR600S3, DS6S3 - REL Storm 5 - VDH Silver Jubilee Hybrid IC - Tara labs Prism Onmi bi-wire SC - Isol-8 Minisub2**

I was thinking along the lines of the AKSA amps or AussieAmplifiers or SKA, but don't really know the differences between these, not to mention how they differ with "Gainclone" amps.

If anyone has any remarks or hints I would be very grateful!
Thanks very much

Matt
Old 23rd May 2007, 08:46 PM   #2
lineup is offline lineup  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Noob looking for ideas for first power amp project

Quote:
Originally posted by floatingkiwi
Hi all

I'm a first time DIY'er looking for ideas to build my first power amp.
--------------

I was thinking along the lines of the AKSA amps or AussieAmplifiers or SKA,