Inverting preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
In case I'm using an inverting, for example, SRPP tube preamp, is it necessary to make changes at the output of the power amp - to change the speaker (+/-) terminals or something like that, to keep the sourse and the output in phase?
I'm thinking about a mu-follower (SRPP) preamp and Andrea Ciuffoli's SE Follower 99 combo. Do you think they will work well together? Any one with experience with such projects?
Thanks

I have built Andrea Ciuffoli's SE Follower 99 (with a 38V 500VA transformator/channel and a bias current of 2A/4A). I have been using it for about 18 months now. It works very good but you need a HUGE heatsink. As preamp i'm using a modified Bride Of Zen.

>is it necessary to make changes at the output of the power amp - to change the speaker (+/-) terminals or something like that, >to keep the sourse and the output in phase?

No, it isn't necessary. 180 degrees of of phase is inaudible.

>I'm thinking about a mu-follower (SRPP) preamp and Andrea Ciuffoli's SE Follower 99 combo. Do you think they will work well >together? Any one with experience with such projects?

It should work good if it's capabel of delivering enough voltage swing! If you use a 38V transformator for the Power Follower, the preamp should be able to swing 15V RMS. And keep in mind that the output resistance should be less than 1000Ohms.

Why don't you build the No Compromise OTL Headphone Amplifier by Andrea Ciufolli. It should be able to drive the Power Follower very good.
Or the BoZ?

/Freddie

No Compromise OTL