Leach but larger - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th April 2007, 10:33 PM   #1
taj is offline taj
diyAudio Member

Default Leach but larger

Attached is my variation of original Leach 4.5.

I hope to build it into an existing chassis and power supply that provides ~72vdc rails and TO-3 heatsinks that accommodate 4-pairs per channel. Yes, it'll pack a nice punch.

So, I've swapped out the transistors with somewhat newer, higher power-rated ones, and added more output devices. And so my questions are:

Do I need to modify any circuit elements to make this work? I'm just learning electronics, so I am a bit ohms law challenged still. I'm not sure if the voltages or currents need adjusting to suit, or whether my transistor changes have screwed up any circuit operations.

Also, is my choice of devices suitable/acceptable? Better choices?

(I have the 2sa970/2sc2240s on hand, which is why I've used them in the input section.)

Comments/advice?

..Todd
Attached Images
File Type: png leach1.png (38.8 KB, 734 views)
Old 28th April 2007, 10:35 PM   #2
taj is offline taj
diyAudio Member

part 2 of schematic ...

NOTE: I don't know what C19 & C20 (in the output section) do, so I've left them located as in the original circuit, but maybe they should be moved to the last pair. (Just guessing.)
Attached Images
File Type: png leach2.png (28.5 KB, 650 views)
Old 29th April 2007, 12:54 AM   #3
jaycee is offline jaycee  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Spotted one error - the value of R45 R47 R145 R147 is not 0.33K ohms

You may need to use more than 10pF Miller capacitors C10 and C11. I'd go with 100pF to start with and perhaps drop down to 47pF if it's stable.
Old 29th April 2007, 01:12 AM   #4
taj is offline taj
diyAudio Member

Quote: