Does a user friendly crossover simulator exist?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So I am trying to flatten out the impedance on this tweeter: Dayton Audio DC28F-8 1-1/8" Silk Dome Tweeter and at this point I am not sure if a simple restor in parallel is adequate or if I should be using a notch filter (and if that should be series or parallel). I would prefer to use a notch filter because it seems it would aquire a better result but I am new to this and a 'shunt' resistor looks easy.

The problem is, I have no idea what the value of that resistor should be and I assume I'll need to simulate this tweeter with resistors of a few different values before finding the right one. Unfortunatly I am a little pressed for time and learning the in's and out's of a simulator can be very time consuming.

So either an explination of why I should use a series or parellel notch or a recomendation for a user friendly simulator would be much apreciated :) I dont mind spending a small amount of money on a good simulator if it is easier to use than a free one.

Cheers!

Myles

You need an impedance file (".zma") for your driver(s). You can measure one with DATS or RES (+a fixture), or try to find a curve in its data sheet. You can make your own .zma files with Windows Notebook (for example), just make a text file and on each line put a frequency followed by an impedance and and angle, making sure frequency is rising as you go down the list, like this:

10 8 0
20 8 0
100 8 0
1000 12 40
2000 9 30
3000 8 0
10000 8 0

(just numbers I made up, you'd have to get real ones off a plot or table)

Edit: actually Dayton even provides an actual ZMA impedance file you can download --https://www.parts-express.com/pedocs/more-info/dc28f-8.zip

Last edited:
Myleso,