Installing and using LTspice IV (now including LTXVII), From beginner to advanced

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member

I've taken your circuit and swapped the models for the standard LT library ones. You can alter these back to suit yourself. The vbe (vgs) multiplier transistor was missing and I've set the bias to around 100ma. I set the run time for 8ms and the timestep to 0.000000030517578125 which was just copy and pasted from Windows calculator (10ms/262144).

Level set to give 1 watt into 8 ohm.

Attachments

• Distortion.PNG
    Distortion.PNG
    111.9 KB · Views: 373
  • Distortion.asc
    10.6 KB · Views: 80
My First LTSpice Model

I am very new to this software. Recently I built a TubeLab SSE amplifier and attempted to model it in LTSpice. I learned a lot from this forum and the model seems to be working well. I have to admit a few of the components I literally copied from George's LTSpice jpegs and some others. One of my main concerns is the output transformer. I have Trancendar 5k 8R 10W transformers. I am not looking to model them in detail, I know I can download and create very elaborately designed .inc models. I really just want to understand how to convert what I know about the transformers to the coupled multi inductor method suggested by LT Spice, using Henerys and the other perimeters. I would love some suggestions, advice, direction? Thanks! :)

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Observed changes to LTspice following update.

I've noticed a couple different modes of behaviour with my LT installation running on W8.1 following an update. This behaviour is also mirrored on a Vista install.