How to measure capacitor impedance graph - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Software Tools

Software Tools SPICE, PCB CAD, speaker design and measurement software, calculators

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th February 2014, 02:50 PM   #1
Piotr is offline Piotr  Poland
diyAudio Member

Default How to measure capacitor impedance graph

Hi guys. Is there an easy method to get capacitor impedance vs frequency graphs? Reliability of measurment and frequency range would be important too.
I am not experienced with any measurement software, neither PC hardware for such measurements.
Old 8th February 2014, 01:54 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

You need a jig to measure the voltage across the capacitor, while driving it with an ac constant current source. A 1k resistor is good enough for this purpose. This will only be practical for large value capacitors as high frequncy parts need rf test equipment
Old 8th February 2014, 07:21 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thank you for your interest.
What does RF mean? Radio frequencies?

Lets say 500kHz for analog audio purposes would be ok.
100kHz range would be good too - so to start somewhere.

I'm really determined to do this. I've got hundreds of capacitors and spending hundreds of hours making flat impedance response banks - by ear. This is possible, but I'm going gray. I can built any JIG, this is not a problem.
Old 12th February 2014, 03:43 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

In a earlier post I have a link to a simple Opamp interface that I use to do impedance measurements using my sound card.

In the link there is also some simple software that you use with it.
You can also use this very same interface with REW and Visual Analyzer to do RLC impedance measurements with great accuracy.

I show such examples later in the thread as well.

Here is the post and the link to the interface,