Help adding part to LTspice library.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Hopeing some of you Spice experts can help a total newbie to LTSpice :)

I'm stuck on how to import models into the library despite reading the help files, and searching these forums and googling.

Here's what I am trying to do if this is possible. I want to import the Spice models that Bob Cordell has on his audio site such that those parts are available to use on any simulation.

So I have tried to add them to the library by adding just one device to the appropriate file but find I can not then save the file, I get in loop.

I am following this method (section H),
LTspice Tutorial

by going to the library and adding a new .model line.

Nothing I try lets me save the file. Whether that is an operating system specific issue I don't know. I'm running Vista.
(Even I just alter a single character in a library file as a test it (Vista ?) stops me closing the altered document)

How do I do this ?

Is there a different or better way.

And please don't assume any knowledge whatsoever on my part on this.

:)

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    42.9 KB · Views: 785
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Might be getting somewhere... been 2 days on this !

I've changed permisions for the library folders and can now save to them. Yay :)

The transistors I added to the "mosfet" file now show correctly but all the data on the initial selection is showing zero... which seems to be because that data isn't included in the original file I pasted in.

The libraries and importing models is thus far the most difficult aspect up to now for me...

Attachments

• Capture2.JPG
    Capture2.JPG
    94.9 KB · Views: 758
Might be getting somewhere... been 2 days on this !

I've changed permisions for the library folders and can now save to them. Yay :)