Noise Spectral Density and Fouier Analysis

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been using Circuitmaker 2000 for several years to do simple sims and now I am getting into an area that I need some instruction and information. :cubehead:
Can anyone explain the NSD function and the associated measurements on the scale? As well as some info on the Fourier Analysis function along with its associated scale.

In my amplifier design the NSD displays a nice smooth ramp from 0 to 2.000fV^2/Hz @ 16hz then tapers to a flat 2.250fV^2/Hz @ 64hz then at 131.072khz it slowly ramps up to 3.250fV^2/Hz @ 4.2meghz and of course rises sharply to peak 24.50fV^2/Hz @ 24meghz then sharply declines to 0.500fV^2/Hz @ 42meghz then to a smooth decline down to 0 @ 264.4meghz.:confused:

On the Fourier Analysis tab my amp shows it starting out at 34mV then droping straight down to 0mV @ .1Hz then obviously flat at 0mV all the way across.

Can someone put all that in a decent verbage that I may find revealing? If more info is needed on my circuit I can do so, just ask. :)

I respect/appreciate everyone here.
Karl

In Fourier, X is frequency, Y is magnitude of the signal at that frequency. For instance, in a fourier it can be seen that a square wave can be made from many sine waves, each being an odd harmonic of the fundamental frequency.

As for noise analysis, I don't understand it either. You may know more than I do. I tried looking up noise papers by professor Leach, but it's all bizarre math stuff. If you have had some good math classes you should look up Leach's webpage.