How to make sense of LTSpice FFT analysis?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ex-Moderator
Joined 2004
I've been using LTSpice for a couple of years now, and recently started playing around with the FFT analysis. I confess to being rather confused with the results I'm getting. Perhaps I should say at this point that I don't consider a Spice analysis to be a substitute for the real thing. I realize that a simulation is only as good as the tube models used, that simulation doesn't reflect real world variances between nominally identical devices and that, in consequence, an FFT cannot predict exactly what the end product will sound like, if it ever gets built.

The LTSpice FFT function requires me to select the number of points used in the analysis, so I've started experimenting with this, to see its effect. I've found that the more points included in the FFT analysis , the smoother the graph becomes, the lower the harmonic distortion and the fewer harmonics are present. At one extreme (low number of points analyzed e.g. 13), I get significant harmonic distortion, including 3rd, 5th, 7th, 9th and 11th harmonics. At the other extreme (large number of points analyzed e.g. 61) I get virtually no distortion, with only 3rd and a tiny bit of 5th. I have no idea which of these results is more correct or if the 'truth' lies somewhere in between. This is a P-P amp, so there is no even-order harmonic distortion.

Like many aspects of LTSpice, the FFT analysis is not explained in 'help', so there is no guidance on how to get the most meaningful result. Also, I can't find anything relevant at the Yahoo Groups LTSpice users' forum, so I thought I should ask for advice here: does anyone know what would be a sensible number of points to include?