Transformer and pot for BrianGT kit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've just ordered a BrianGT kit and was wondering about some choices regarding a transformer and a pot.

Transformer choices are these.

18V-0-18V 160VA Toroidal Transformer - AU$48
25V-0-25V 160VA Toroidal Transformer - AU$48
18V-0-18V 300VA Toroidal Transformer - AU$69.95

That what Jaycar has that would be suitable (I think).

I was wondering which would be the better of the 3, also counting in the price difference between the 160VA and 300VA? Also, is there a better of cheaper place in Australia to buy/order a transformer?

As for a pot for volume control, i'm not exactally sure what I need for it. Is one of these link the right thing? It's cheap, maybe there is something that will do the job better?

This is my first time with something like this, so all the help I can get would be greatly appreciated! :cool:

parrymike said:
I thought that the required secondary voltage really depended a lot on your speakers, i.e. 18V for 4ohms and upto 25V for 8ohm.
It does - if you need maximum power. But remember that many "8 ohm" speakers aren't really 8 ohm - but closer to 6 (or even 4).

So I think 22V is a good choise for many "8 ohm" speakers, but 25 is a bit high.

How would 18V secondaries perfom/affect the sound when driving 8ohm speakers? Is 25V too high?
It doesn't affect the sound at all - you just get less output power. I use a 2*15V transformer myself with "8 ohm" speakers.

Best regards,

Mikkel C. Simonsen

Poeee,

I'm from Melbourne which isn't too far from you. Don't buy the Jaycar transformer's they're not good quality and they want too much for them. I was recommended Harbuch's by a very respectable amplifier manufacturer, which make great antrim toroidal trannies of very high quality.