Looking for (info) Adcom 555 Mk2 Factory output trannys

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys (OH, and ladies!)
I'm new to the furum, it's a great thing going here!

I picked up a 555 mk2 on ebay recently. It had been dropped and hed 1 side out. Hmm .. I didn't think dropping would damage the outputs, so wasn't I surprised that was the problem! Anyway, every other Adcom I have had used Toshiba outputs (you know the ones). This thing has TO-3's with what I am assuming is an internal Adcom part #.. ADC-B55 (9342 185W) and ADC-D42 (9340 185W). This kinda P'd me off!!

I am trying to avoid changing all of the outputs, I am not expecting this amp will be working very hard (maybe to rears). Not to mention I am sometimes really cheap! Does anyone know what these are? Obviously someone's gotta make 'em. Also. I am SURE someone out there has done a complete replacment of these in the past , and may have some they want to sell.

Thanks in advance,
marino@charter.net
Marc

djk,
If you found my post insulting, I did not mean it that way. I was simply wondering if they were the EXACT same transistor, or is the adcom piece a knock off with the same specs. In other words, are the adcom pieces built by toshiba. Obviously you are sure...

Results..Thank you

This furum is superb, as are the people on it!
My question is at the end.

I thought it would be nice to share some observations on mods to this amp (Adcom 555mk2) and what I heard.

I decided to replace all of the outputs on my 555 mk2 with ON MJ15024/25 rather than overpay for possibly counterfeit toshibas.

I put a 100 watt light bulb in series w/ the ac line on initial power up. A practice I learned here and will use it every time as I KNOW it saved the new transistors I just installed.