High-End Active XO

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been looking for an Active Crossover, that will not bring a lot additional distortion into my system. The Behringer DCX looks very nice, but I have heard that its only really good for the lowbass crossovers, and not for the more revealing cross to tweeter.

I'm not good with tweaking so I would very much prefer an Active XO that sounds great out of the box. Have you got any interresting recommendations, cheap would deffinately be a bonus :0)

I don't really need a lot of functions, only the crossover, and maybe a delay function.

thank you!

Hi,

We are currently in process of development of
a digital crossover. The work is in rather early phase
unfortunately so there is no any finished product yet.
Actually the prototype board lays currently on our kitchen table.

But for further information of the company that develops
it, please have a look at its web page:

http://www.iti.fi

It may someday be a finished product. ITI has also
other embedded products in its product range, one of
the latest is MPC5200 board. A PowerPC can be by the way
used as a control processor for the DSP board. The
PowerPC boards can run either embedded Linux or
Katix RTOS. Katix is by the way a open source project:
http://www.katix.org

Anyway, the DSP being used is a 233 MHz floating point
DSP from Texas. I don't remember its exact model number.
It is rather powerful and can be programmed with C.
The advantage of this is that for example a SynC modular
ensemble is therefore pretty easy to port for the DSP
(no need to take into account the fixed point arithmetics etc.).

We have been planning to use some 24 bit / 192 kHz codecs
(A/D & D/A converters).

Anyway, when it is ready, I am planning to use it in my
speakers.

Best Wishes,
Karoliina

P.S. I am not an employee of ITI.

Other options

DBX Driverack PA - roughly $100 US more than the DCX2496