what is this?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
i know im new at this so hopefully this will be easy for someone to help with.

i am working on a MTX 3401.

there are 2 independant circut boards one for the amp stuff and a seperate one that houses the gains and adjustments. its the adjustment board im having problems with

it looks like a small silver barrel and has the numbers "10 16s 4f8" on the top of it, i put power to the amp and this part actually exploded and shot across the room. is this normal? what is this thing and where do i get a new one?

what causes this to fail? should i be looking for another problem?

i cant measure it, all that is left on the PCB is just 2 tabs, it seriously dynamited in a big loud blaze of glory. do you think i can just guess and use the specs you recomended?

yes the transistors were bolted to the heatsink. this little capacitor was on a completely seperate board within the same amp.

what will cause the "regulator" to cause this to happen? should i check that it is ok before putting in a new capacitor?

Before you replace it, you need to measure the DC voltage from the regulators. I don't have any information on this particular amp. Can you post a few photos of the internals?

If there are other caps with the same markings, you can measure them. The most important measurement is the pad size/spacing. The height isn't likely to be a problem.

When the regulator fails, it often sends full rail voltage to the regulated 15v circuit. This will cause the caps to explode. It can also cause extensive damage to other components. The following thread dealt with a regulator failure in an MTX 7801.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=119800&highlight=

here is another picture of the blown cap

Attachments

• 1912.jpg
    1912.jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 829