scrapyard turntable

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Well, finally here it is, my first diy scrapyard turntable.

As I was very happy having a few thorens parts doing nothing in my scrapyard I started building an new turntable using these. So the turntable can also be regarded as an extreme make over or a drastic tweak :D.

Attached an overview image.

More in the next post.

MArco

Attachments

• overview_small.jpg
    overview_small.jpg
    42.8 KB · Views: 3,121
Arm detail

HEre a photograph of the arm part of the turntable (yes, I know, I'm a lousy photographer).

The arm I regard as having build myself (otherwise it should be considered as a major tweak of a badminton racket). It's a full carbon arm with an aluminium head shell and a brass counterweight. Of course I used an unipivot. The VTA is adjustable in a wide margin (about 5 cm).

Marco

Attachments

• detail.jpg
    detail.jpg
    46.3 KB · Views: 2,747
Details and a question

A little on the details of this turntable.

The plinth is solid concrete in which a part of the sub chassis of a Thorens TD160 is embedded. This basically gave me a standard Thorens bearing in a concrete plinth. The sub chassis gave me a means of having it exactly vertical (as I assumed that the bearing is mounted axactly right in the sub chassis metal).

In this bearing a standard Thorens sub platter. I actually used a fibre one. I didn't need the mass of a metal one, and I believe the damping of the fibre one is better. On this I stacked two Thorens outer platters. I made the spindle longer.

I plan to fill the top platter with either concrete or Acryllic resin. I get worried a bit about the weight. How much platter weight can a Thorens bearing support before wear gets excessive? And when it does would a small Teflon plate on the bottom of the bearing help?