• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

First Post - Hum on 5687 Pre-amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my first post here and I’m looking for some help with two problems with a valve pre-amplifier I recently put to-gether. The two problems are hum and too much gain…

Firstly, a bit of background – I’m a complete newbie to valve amplifiers and I’m doing my best to increase my knowledge by reading Morgan Jones book (Valve amplifiers) and looking at various websites. Over the last couple of months I decided to go ahead and build a pre-amplifier which was fairly quickly followed by a power amplifier.

So, the pre-amp was based on a 5687 valve as per the schematic on www.diy paradise.com which appeared to be relatively ‘simple’ to build for a newbie. It took me some time to complete but I’m new to this so no big deal! Well after testing to find all voltages were approx. correct everything looked great. However, at this stage I had no power amp so I couldn’t really test the preamp playing music.

So I decided to build a power amp. This time with some help with a schematic I built a EL34 SE power amp (using ECC83 drivers). Again, everything went ok – no problems with voltages on power amp, etc. Excitedly I coupled the pre-amp and power amp together but it was immediately obvious I had problems – loud hum.
Played some music anyway but then second problem surfaced – too much gain (volume was too loud before 9’ o clock on dial.)

Some investigation was carried out: Could play music through power amp (with Walkman CD + volume control) and there was no hum so I figured that this meant the pre-amp was at fault.

So looking at pre-amp