BPA - 200 questions(newbie)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi, i know these questions must be getting really old, but please bear with me, i'm a little new to all of this...
some questions:
1.i checked dxvideo's pcb layouts for the BPA - 200 and he hadn't used the servo circuits.really, what goes wrong if you don't include them???(makes the Pcb layout sooo much easier.:D )
2.the AN - 1192 says use a 60vrms transformer.that means a 30 - 0 - 30 right??...so that means the final dc o/p should be around 27v. but how do they show 42v at the o/p, and that too unregulated...(as an off question, isin't unregulated inherently unstable??)
and finally, going out on a limb here, but what are the chanches any of you have some pcb layouts of the circuit? i'm finding the going pretty hard.using trax maker 2000.
thanks a lot.

1- I would forget about the servo's, they are not required and the stability they add is probably traded off by degradation in the sound. Just make sure your gain setting parts are well matched, and have some output resistors and i think you will be fine.

2- 30ACV x 1.4 is 42DCV. I would say this is pushing it a bit to high for power. You have no margin for error with main fluctuations, and your chips will be clipping/overheating straight away too. A 25V transformer would seem to be a much better choice, it still can’t quite handle a 4ohm load (requires .90c/w heat sink) but it’s better then the 30V. of course if you only plan on running this into an 8 ohm load, then you may be ok with something a bit higher.

As for PCB layout, PCB’s can be handy, but for something simple like this. I don't think you can beat nice point to point setup or just use some vario board.

but for point to point setup, say using a general purpose board, aren't the tracks too thin?